The County Fair and “A Love Story”

I was sitting here wondering, what could I possibly blog about! I got to thinking about some photos I had taken at the spring carnival back in April here in Columbus, GA. Which got me to thinking, the Greater Columbus Fair is a coming next week. Which got me to thinking about the story of my husband and me. Then it dawned on me, that’s what I’ll write about! Me and Rick! Sooooo, I got a story. Wanna hear it? Here it go…
I haven’t been to the Columbus fair since September 1999, then known as the Chattahoochee Valley fair, I think. That was when Rick finally got up some nerves to ask me on a kinda date. A kinda date? Yep, that’s when a person (usually the male) will invite you and your friends to go out somewhere (usually crowded) with him and his friends because he still hasn’t got up the other half of his nerve to ask you on a real date. 🙂 That way if you say no he’ll only feel half rejected. Before that he stalked me at the Piggly Wiggly where I worked, but that’s a whole other story! 🙂 Oh, and before that, we dated in the 10th grade. You guessed it, that too is a whole other story. All I can say is young and clueless, young and clueless. Hahaha.

Rick and I rode rides with each other and our friends. He pep talked his friends while I tried to convince my friends to talk to his friends so we all could teenage date and have perfect little relationships and go on perfect dates together and all get married at the same time and have perfect marriages, then have perfect kids and live perfect lives. Whew, that was a mouthful… teenagers huh. One of my friends did end up dating one of Rick’s friends, actually two, but that’s not relevant. Let’s just say they soooo didn’t work out. Rick and I, on the other hand, did… sorta. But first, we ate fooood. Cotton candy, corn dogs, VINEGAR FRIES, candy apples, funnel cakes. Love, the end.

Just kidding. Back to the sorta. See we worked out, but not at first. After the fair we stayed together. We were officially a couple October 1999, the 19th to be exact. Rick joined the Air Force July 2000, then I joined shortly after in October 2000. Rick finished his training and got his first duty station in Dover, Delaware. I thought it was a cruel joke! When I finished training I also by nothing short of a miracle got assigned to Dover, Delaware too. Definitely a cruel joke! Most people end up in Timbuktu, far from where they wanted to be. I got my first pick! It must have been the strong force of our love drawing us to each other like magnets. Sigh…NOT! Thing is we had no idea what love was. Yeah we got married 3 years later and had our first child two years after that, but we still didn’t get it. Whoever said communication is the key, LIED! Well, it was half the truth, but half truth equals a lie. Communication is key, but with whom is the question? They left that part out.

The “Love Story” part– Rick and I fell in love a couple of years after being married and at different times. “How could that be,” you may be asking yourself. Don’t worry, I’ll be happy to explain. See we couldn’t know love until we knew God and what giving “…His only begotten Son really meant.” What greater love is there than that which Christ showed us by dying on the cross. Jesus GAVE His life FREELY to the very people whose sins put Him on the cross. My sins nailed Jesus to the cross, Rick’s sins nailed Jesus to the cross, your sins nailed Jesus to the cross. Then God showed Rick his sins and Rick saw them for the first time. Christ showed him He offered Himself as a sacrifice for those sins and he would be forgiven IF he repented and turned from his sins and trusted in Him. My husband repented and turned to Christ and has been following Him ever since Nov 2007. Rick shared this good news with me. To which I initially impolitely rejected, until Christ took the blinders off and showed me I was in desperate need of a Savior. Then I did the same about a year later in Dec 2008. “Amazing Grace how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now I’m found, was blind but now I SEE!”

Now I know love isn’t merely meeting a person and staying with them ’til death. What then do you have to look forward to? I know Love and He always was and He always will be. What great hope for those that will spend eternity with Love Himself. And to think it all started at the Chattahoochee Valley Fair. We fell in love with Jesus Christ. Then we fell in love with each other. And the rest is eternity…

Ephesians 2:8-9 “For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.
Grace and peace.

About AliasChanel

My name is Tiffany. I am a child of God, wife to Rick, and mother to Leah, London, and Lathan. I enjoy doing photography and just want to glorify Christ in all I do. I am a stay at home mom that chooses to homeschool my 5 year old, Leah while chasing my 2 year old, London and feeding my big man, Lathan (4 months). Talk about multitasking!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The County Fair and “A Love Story”

  1. Trudi says:

    Beautiful story, Tiff – just beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

